News Alerts

15 Mar 2020 | 02:12 AM UTC

Croatia: Government issues post-entry restrictions for 18 territories March 14 /update 1

Croatia News Alert

Travelers from 18 countries and territories required to undergo self-isolation or quarantine from March 14; adhere to all government directives

TIMEFRAME expected from 3/14/2020, 12:00 AM until 4/30/2020, 11:59 PM (Europe/Zagreb). COUNTRY/REGION Croatia

Read all related news alert(s):


On Saturday, March 14, Croatian Civil Protection Staff announced that all foreign nationals traveling from the UK, France, Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, Italy, Spain, Austria, Netherlands, part of Slovenia, China, Hong Kong, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Bahrain, and Iran will be required to undergo a mandatory 14-day self-isolation or quarantine upon arrival to Croatia to limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19). Croatian nationals traveling from the aforementioned areas will be required to also undergo a 14-day self-isolation or self-quarantine but at home.

Authorities recommended that gatherings of more than 100 people be suspended, and that sports events and entertainment activities such as concerts also be suspended. Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic announced on Friday, March 13, that schools and universities will close for two weeks from Monday, March 16. 

As of 18:30 (local time) on March 14, health officials have confirmed 38 cases of COVID-19. Further international spread of COVID-19 is to be expected over the near term. 


The first case of COVID-19 was reported on December 31 and the source of the outbreak has been linked to a wet market in Wuhan (Hubei province, China). Human-to-human and patient-to-medical staff transmission of the virus have been confirmed. Many of the associated fatalities have been due to pneumonia caused by the virus.

Cases of the virus have been confirmed in numerous countries and territories worldwide. Virus-screening and quarantining measures are being implemented at airports worldwide, as well as extensive travel restrictions. On March 11, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared the global outbreak a pandemic.

Pneumonia symptoms include dry cough, chest pain, fever, and labored breathing. Pneumonia can be contagious and can be transmitted from human to human. The influenza virus, or the flu, is a common cause of viral pneumonia.


Measures adopted by local authorities evolve quickly and are usually effective immediately. Depending on the evolution of the outbreak in other countries, authorities are likely to modify, at very short notice, the list of countries whose travelers are subject to border control measures or entry restrictions upon their arrival to the territory in question. It is advised to postpone nonessential travel due to the risk that travelers may be refused entry or be subject to quarantine upon their arrival or during their stay.

To reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by applying an alcohol-based hand rub or washing with soap and water.
  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.
  • If experiencing a fever, cough, and difficulty breathing, seek medical care urgently and share your previous travel history with your health care provider. 


Copyright and Disclaimer
GardaWorld is the owner or licensee of all intellectual property rights in the material presented on this website. All such rights are reserved. The use of this website and its material is subject to the Terms of Use and accordingly you must not use any content from this website for commercial or other analogous purposes without our consent, including but not limited to any deep-linking or framing in order to copy, distribute, display or monitor any portion of the website. If you have any questions or are interested in distributing any content from this website, Contact us for more details.

Related news