News Alerts

Germany News Alert

Germany: Border checks to be implemented for G20 summit

Security checks at borders in lead-up to and during G20 summit in Hamburg July 7-8; further details to be announced at later date

12 Jun 12:46 PM UTC
TIMEFRAME expected from 6/7/2017, 12:00 AM until 6/8/2017, 11:59 PM (Europe/Berlin). COUNTRY/REGION Germany


Security checks will be implemented along Germany's borders in the lead-up to and during the G20 summit, taking place in Hamburg on July 7 and 8. Details about the exact locations and timing of the border checks will only be announced immediately before the summit in order to prevent people from attempting to circumvent the measures.


The 12th G20 summit will include leaders from the United States, Germany, United Kingdom, Turkey, South Africa, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Russia, Japan, Mexico, Italy, India, Indonesia, France, China, Canada, Brazil, Australia, and Argentina, and the European Union (EU).

Germany is a member of the EU’s Schengen Zone, a collection of 26 European countries that allow for passport-free travel between their borders. Under Schengen rules, countries can implement internal border controls for up to ten days for national security or public policy reasons. These controls can be renewed for periods of up to 30 days, with a maximum limit of six months.


Individuals are advised to account for potential travel disruptions and avoid any protests that may occur in Hamburg before or during the G20 summit.

Related news