Alertes de sécurité

À noter, les alertes ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais
12 mars 2019 | 16h12 UTC

Global: Multiple countries ban 737 MAX planes from airspace March 12 /update 4

Argentina Alerte de sécurité

Multiple countries temporarily ban Boeing 737 MAX aircraft from their respective airspace as of March 12; associated flight disruptions reported

TIMEFRAME expected from 11/3/2019, 12h00 until 18/3/2019, 11h59 (UTC). COUNTRY/REGION Indonesia, Argentina, Brazil, China, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Mongolia, Cayman Islands, Ethiopia, Morocco, Australia, Germany, France, Ireland, Malaysia, Oman, United Kingdom

Read all related news alert(s):


Additional airlines have suspended operations of Boeing 737 MAX planes as of Tuesday, March 12, following the crash of Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302 on Sunday, March 10. Aviation authorities in Australia, Germany, France, Ireland, Malaysia, Oman, and the UK have also joined Singapore in banning all 737 MAX type aircraft from their respective airspace. Airlines in multiple countries are reportedly conducting inspections of their 737 MAX fleets and are awaiting further reports of the Flight 302 investigation. In the US, the Federal Aviation Administration issued a notice of Continued Airworthiness to the International Community (CANIC) on Monday, March 11, for all 737 MAX type aircraft, reaffirming the fleet's airworthiness. Associated flight disruptions - including delays, cancelations, and reroutes - are to be expected.

The following countries have temporarily banned the Boeing 737 MAX aircraft from their respective airspace:

  • Australia
  • Germany
  • France
  • Ireland
  • Malaysia
  • Oman
  • Singapore
  • UK

The following countries and airlines have grounded their Boeing 737 MAX 8 planes:

  • Argentina - Aerolineas Argentinas (five planes)
  • Brazil - GOL (seven planes)
  • Cayman Islands - Cayman Airways (two planes)
  • China - 102 planes total on 9 Air (three planes), Air China (15 planes), China Eastern (three planes), China Southern (26 planes), Fuzhou Airlines (two planes), Hainan Airlines (11 planes), Kunming Airlines (two planes), Lucky Air (three planes), OKAir (two planes), Shandong Airlines (seven planes), Shanghair Airlines (12 planes), Shenzen Airlines (six planes), Xiamen Air (10 planes)
  • Ethiopia - Ethiopian Airlines (four planes)
  • Iceland - Icelandair (three planes)
  • Indonesia - Garuda (one plane), Lion Air (10 planes)
  • Mexico - Aeromexico (six planes)
  • Mongolia - MIAT Mongolian Airlines (one plane)
  • Morocco - Royal Air Maroc (one plane)
  • Norway - Norwegian Airlines (18 planes)
  • Singapore - Silk Air (six planes)
  • South Africa - Comair (one plane)
  • South Korea - Eastar Jet (two planes)
  • TUI (16 planes)


Ethiopian Airlines Flight 302 flying from Addis Ababa to Nairobi crashed shortly after takeoff on March 10, killing all 157 people on board. It is not yet known what caused the crash and an investigation is underway. The same model of plane, a Boeing 737 MAX 8, was also involved in a fatal Lion Air crash in October 2018 that killed all 189 people on board.


Potentially impacted travelers are advised to monitor developments to the situation, anticipate possible flight disruptions (including delays and cancelations) in the coming days, and maintain flexible travel itineraries. Contact your airline directly for more information.


Copyright and Disclaimer
GardaWorld is the owner or licensee of all intellectual property rights in the material presented on this website. All such rights are reserved. The use of this website and its material is subject to the Terms of Use and accordingly you must not use any content from this website for commercial or other analogous purposes without our consent, including but not limited to any deep-linking or framing in order to copy, distribute, display or monitor any portion of the website. If you have any questions or are interested in distributing any content from this website, Contact us for more details.

Alertes reliées