Alertes de sécurité

À noter, les alertes ne sont disponibles qu'en anglais
Qatar Alerte de sécurité

Qatar: Several Arab states cut diplomatic ties June 5

Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the UAE, Yemen, Libya, Bahrain, and the Maldives have cut diplomatic ties with Qatar on June 5

05 juin 15h45 UTC
TIMEFRAME expected from 5/6/2017, 12h00 until 7/6/2017, 11h59 (Asia/Qatar). COUNTRY/REGION Qatar


Several Arab states, including Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Yemen, Libya, Bahrain, and the Maldives have severed diplomatic ties with Qatar on Monday, June 5, after accusing the country of supporting terrorism.

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, the UAE, and Egypt announced that they would halt air, sea, and land travel to and from Qatar in a series of coordinated statements. Emirates, Etihad, Air Arabia, and FlyDubai, have all announced the indefinite suspension of flights to Qatar starting Tuesday, June 6. The three gulf states gave Qatari visitors and residents two weeks to leave. Several prominent Gulf and Egyptian businessmen have urged investors to withdraw from Qatar, and the price of Liquid Natural Gas (LNG), of which Qatar is a major supplier has fallen sharply. Qatar was also expelled from the Saudi-led coalition fighting in Yemen.


Gulf Arab states and Egypt have long resented Qatar’s alleged support for groups such as the Egyptian-based Muslim Brotherhood and the Islamic State (IS), among others. Saudi Arabia accused the country of broadcasting militant ideology, a reference to Qatar’s state-owned media network, Al Jazeera. Qatar has also been heavily criticized for forging a relationship with Iran, considered by many Arab countries as a dangerous enemy.


Travelers flying to, from, or through Qatar from one of the listed countries are advised to confirm their flights and to contact their airlines for more information. 

Alertes reliées